Food for Thought Thursday….

food for thought

So many times in the past, I have turned to food for my go-to, feel better, take it all away “drug”. Little did I know how much damage I was doing to my body and my mind. How often do we rely on the bowl of ice cream or bar of chocolate to make us feel better? When all along that is only taking us a step backwards rather than helping us reach our goals of being healthier.

3 weeks ago, I began training for my first ever 5K coming up in April. I have never been a walker much less a runner, but lately I find myself waking up wanting to run! Now don’t get me wrong, I am not an avid runner and I don’t run everyday..it’s hard with 2 kids but it is one of the most amazing feelings I have ever felt.

Walking and running is a wonderful way to release the pressure of the day, the stress that sometimes comes along with being a full time stay at home mom, and it prevents me from tip-toeing to the refrigerator for those little snacks that eventually will add up! It is energizing, refreshing and inspiring to go outside and soak up every bit of God’s creation and beauty! It is one on one time with me and our Creator! Just the sounds of the birds chirping, the wind blowing, and my feet hitting the pavement…and if I listen closely enough I can almost hear the calories crying as they are melting away!

So when you get to a low place in your day and before you take that step to the cabinet or refrigerator….take a walk today, go for a run……enjoy the peacefulness of His presence and breath it all in!!

Leave a Reply

